The North-West Europe Programme area involves Belgium, the Netherlands, Ireland, Luxembourg, parts of France and Germany, and Switzerland. It aims to make the North-West Europe area a key economic player and an attractive place to work and live, with high levels of innovation, sustainability, and cohesion.

Visit Programme website

EU Budget

€287 million ERDF (up to 60% support per project) for the 2021-2027 programming period.

Eligible areas

All of Ireland plus eligible regions of the France, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg and Switzerland.

Priority Axes

  • Innovation – Improving the innovation capacity and competitiveness of SMEs or other enterprises from North-West Europe. This priority also involves social innovation, which includes innovative solutions for social needs and problems.
  • Low carbon – Supporting the shift towards a low carbon economy in all sectors, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, developing sustainable transport and removing bottlenecks in key network infrastructures.
  • Resource and materials efficiency – New ways to produce more value with fewer materials, promoting a smart use of water, land, air and other resources.


Sarah Davoren

Southern Regional Assembly, O’Connell St., Waterford.